What are the diamond 4C's?

The diamond's 4 C's are: Color, Cut, Clarity and Carat Weight. Using these four characteristics, you can valuate the quality of a diamond and its beauty as well as compare all diamonds to one another. The grading scales for the 4 C's are developed by the Gemological Institute of America or GIA. With the standardized grading scale, consumers and gemologists can accurately identify diamonds.



The word "carat" is derived from "carob," a Mediterranean seed with a very reliable weight for measurement. The rarity and value of the diamond increase with the carat weight. 5 metric carats weighs exactly 1 gram.

Some people aspire to own the biggest diamond available. If size is important to you, Savani Brothers can assist you in choosing the ideal cut, colour, and clarity to match your budget wisely and complement your jewellery. Many of our engagement rings can accommodate diamonds weighing up to 5.00 carats, although the size restrictions vary depending on the ring's size and style of setting. Almost any size diamond can be accommodated in a prong setting, although tension-set and bezel-set diamonds have significant size restrictions.


Most of the carbon in diamonds is carbon. Other substances that are trapped inside the diamond during heating give it a distinctive imprint. These impurities aid in determining the diamond's clarity.

F - No inclusions or blemishes are visible to a skilled grader.
IF - No inclusions and only blemishes are visible to a skilled
VVS1-VVS2 - Inclusions are difficult for a skilled grader to see.
VS1-VS2 - Inclusions are clearly visible but can be characterized as minor.
SI1-SI2 - Inclusions are noticeable to a skilled grader.
I1-I3 - Inclusions are obvious and may affect transparency and brilliance.

*All diamonds are viewed through a 10x magnification lens by diamond graders.



Diamonds can be colourless, yellow, or light brown, and they can occasionally be discovered in a variety of exotic colors, such as yellow, blue, and even red. The rarer the diamond, the less color it has.

D - Colorless
E-F - Colorless
G-J - Near Colorless
K-M - Faint Yellow
N-R - Very Light Yellow
S-Z - Light Yellow

After 'Z' on the color scale, diamonds become fancy yellow, which cost more because of their rarity.


The diamond's dimensions and symmetry are what truly define a diamond's cut. The dimensions of your diamond significantly affect how brilliantly it shines. The depth, table size, crown height and angle, girdle thickness, and other factors are taken into account to create a "ideal cut" diamond that allows the most light to pass through the top of the stone. You can choose the ideal diamond cut with the help of our diamond experts, who would be glad to do so.

The ideal cut for a rough diamond is determined after it has been mined in order to retain the highest levels of clarity, colour, and carat weight. The terms "cut" and "shape" of a diamond—such as round brilliant or princess cut—are frequently used interchangeably.